Toronto, ON, Canada

About Us

Team CERT is a multidisciplinary team of over 15 researchers based at the University of Toronto in Canada. We have a diverse background spanning chemistry, materials science, physics, photonics, and electrical engineering. We work to address key challenges in the field of renewable energy. Our group has certified 7 world-record efficiency quantum-dot solar cells, and remains a leader in solar-harvesting technology broadly. Our work on addressing the need for carbon-neutral fuel systems has focused on efficient reduction of atmospheric CO2 into usable carbon products. We have developed record performance catalysts for the reduction of CO2 into CO, and the evolution of O2 from H2O—two key reactions needed to realize this goal.


Our system provides the electrocatalytic conversion of CO2 into value added fuels and feedstocks using novel, high efficiency catalysts. Advances in catalyst design and performance have been achieved both for the anodic oxygen evolution reaction (OER) and the cathodic CO2 reduction reaction (CO2RR) using nanostructured materials. Our water splitting anode catalyst is made from cheap and common abundant earth metals in an easy scalable synthetic way. Our CO2 conversion catalyst is based on nanostructured metals synthesized using advanced materials processing techniques. We bring this together in a compact and scalable system which utilizes flow cell technology modified from state-of-the-art fuel cells.


Ted holds the rank of University Professor in the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Toronto. He holds the Canada Research Chair in Nanotechnology and also serves as Vice President - International for the University of Toronto. His book The Dance of Molecules: How Nanotechnology is Changing Our Lives (Penguin) was published in Canada and the United States in 2005 and has been translated into French, Spanish, Italian, Korean, and Arabic. He is founder and CTO of InVisage Technologies and a co-founder of Xagenic. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada; a Fellow of the AAAS “...for distinguished contributions to the development of solar cells and light sensors based on solution-processed semiconductors;” and a Fellow of the IEEE “... for contributions to colloidal quantum dot optoelectronic devices.” He is Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering for “…ground-breaking research in nanotechnology, applying novel quantum-tuned materials to the realization of full-spectrum solar cells and ultra-sensitive light detectors. The impact of his work has been felt in industry through his formation of two start-up companies." His publications have been cited over 16,000 times.


Ted Sargent
David Sinton
Eugenia Kumacheva
Alex Ip
Phil De Luna
Cao-Thang Dinh
Thomas Burdyny
Katarina Neskovic
Jonathan Edwards
Anna Klinkova
Oleksandr Bushuyev
Md Golam Kibria
Pelayo Garcia de Arquer
Amirreza Kiani
Christine Gabardo
Yuanjie Pang
Brandon Sutherland